Uninsured & Underinsured Motorist Accidents
If You Were Injured in an Accident, Contact Our Denver Personal Injury Lawyers
Suffering expensive damages or painful injuries after a crash is enough
to worry anyone, but if your accident was caused by an uninsured motorist,
the possibility if compensation may seem hopelessly out of reach. Unfortunately,
accidents with underinsured or uninsured motorists happen all too often.
Roughly 1 in every 8 drivers in the United States are uninsured, and the
local statistics for Colorado are even higher, with 16% of motorists driving
without proper coverage, according to the Insurance Information Institute.
Despite it being illegal to drive without insurance, some drivers continue
to do so, putting everyone on the road at risk.
When someone decides to drive without insurance, they are breaking the
law and should be held responsible for their actions. At
Pushchak & Dible, LLC, we understand the complex issues that come with uninsured and underinsured
motorists, and we have the knowledge and experience necessary to represent you.
Were you injured in a car accident? Contact us for a
Colorado Uninsured Driver Laws
Uninsured motorist laws vary by state, and in Colorado it is required that
increased protection be provided. This means, if you are injured in an
accident due to the fault of an uninsured driver, your own insurance should
cover your damages. In the event that the driver at fault has insurance
but their policy does not cover all of your damages, (an underinsured
motorist), your insurance should cover the differences.
Colorado requires motorists to maintain a bodily injury liability insurance
coverage of at least $25,000 per person, or $50,000 per incident. The
state has deemed these amounts sufficient to cover damages of most accidents,
but sometimes they simply aren’t enough.
Filing a Lawsuit Against the Negligent Driver
Statute of limitations restricts the amount of time you have to take legal
action against an uninsured motorist for their negligent behavior. If
you wish to file a lawsuit against the driver, Colorado law permits you
to do so to seek compensation for any injuries or losses ensured during
the accident. The statute of limitations is 3 years, and after this time
period any lawsuits will no longer be valid, so it is important to take
legal action immediately.
Contact Our Firm About Your Case
With our “no recovery, no fee” agreement, you won’t pay
a dime unless you receive a settlement, award, or beneficial jury verdict.
Our firm has closed hundreds of personal injury claims, and our attorneys
are dedicated to defending the rights of injured and wronged victims.
If you believe you have a personal injury claim, or were recently injured
in an accident involving an uninsured motorist,
contact Pushchak & Dible, LLC to discuss your case with a dedicated Denver injury lawyer.